change your thoughts.

Positive thinking can be one of the hardest things I have to accomplish in a day. I can catch myself in a negative train of thinking before my feet even hit the floor in the morning, if I’m not careful. It’s hard. I have a lot on my mind. I have a lot to manage. And I have a lot to get done in one day. It’s easy for me to just even wake up feeling bogged down and already feeling, well… negative.

My tendency to be a negative thinker is what I like about myself the least.

So I have been working on OVERLOAD to try and fill my thoughts with positive things. Somedays it’s a real challenge. I’m just a pessimist by nature, so some extent. And while I DO see the beauty in everything, I DO also see the glass as half empty most of the time. It sort of depends on what mood I’m in, honestly. But even though MY moods fluctuate, the Bible doesn’t. And it tells me this:

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” Philippians 4:8

So I am actively choosing to dwell on the positive things in my life FIRST, before I see the negative. To be thankful for all things that have been given to me. I have SO much to be thankful for. And while it’s difficult for me to always stay focused on the positive, I DO know that when I do, it does change my world. And it changes others around us as well.

Write that verse out and post it all around your house if you need to. It’s a great reminder to me that we are called to be diligent with our minds. And to actively CHOOSE to think on positive things. God will bless you for trying, this I know.

Happy Monday everyone!!

Jess xo

 

Leave a Reply

