pumpkin scones.

You know, it’s odd. I actually DON’T particularly love pumpkin stuff. I mean, I LOVE jack-o-lanterns. And I LOVE harvest pumpkins. But I don’t really love the scent of pumpkin. Pumpkin pie isn’t my favorite. And I don’t AT ALL like pumpkin spice lattes.

OH MY GOSH I KNOW RIGHT?!

But I DO love pumpkin bread. Especially with (well, ONLY with) chocolate chips in it. Mmmmmmm. I make it every year to have and snack on all day during Thanksgiving.

News flash: I have started dabbling in the idea of eating Paleo. In case you’re wondering what that entails, it involves zero sugar, grains, and dairy. Fun to be dabbling in this right before Thanksgiving, right? HA. And actually, it isn’t that bad. I rather enjoy eating this way whenever I can. I’ve a wake up call, if you will, in regards to my eating habits, and this actually suits me and my family quite nicely. Am I full blown Paleo? No. Do I plan to be? I’m not sure yet. I’m not rushing into anything. But I have made SIGNIFICANT changes when it comes to how I approach each of my meals each day. And I’m always looking for healthy alternatives.

All that to say- I found these AMAZING pumpkin scones! They are totally Paleo and they are actually amazing. So I will be making my regular pumpkin bread tomorrow AS WELL AS these awesome pumpkin scones to have. Because I can snack on them as much as I want! There’s ZERO sugar in them. And I don’t have to sacrifice on the taste, because these are actually quite scrumptious. So I’m sharing them here with you now. Take it or leave it. I think they are yummy. And just because it’s the holidays, doesn’t mean we all have to gain an extra 20 lbs JUST BECAUSE. I encourage you to indulge a little bit.

DUH.

But also find alternatives that are just as pleasant. Because you know what’s even MORE pleasant? Getting through January 1st in the same size pants you are right now. Or a smaller size would be icing on the cake, right? Wait. No cake. Well, maybe cake. But probably not.

Wow.

Pumpkin Scones

3/4 cup canned pumpkin
1 egg
2 Tbsp canned coconut milk
1/4 c pure maple syrup + more for drizzling
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 stick of high quality, grassfed butter, frozen 
2 1/2 cups almond flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/2 cup unsweetened, dried cranberries

1. Preheat your oven to 425º and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Make sure you have your butter in the freezer–it needs to be rock solid.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, egg, coconut milk, maple syrup and vanilla. In a large bowl, whisk together the almond flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt, nutmeg, cloves and ginger. Grab your butter out of the freezer. Using the large holes of a box grater, quickly shred the butter over the almond flour mixture. Use your fingers to quickly and gently incorporate the butter into the dry ingredients.

3. Next, stir the pumpkin mixture into the almond flour mixture until well incorporated. Don’t stir too much that the butter melts. You want it to stay cold. Stir in the cranberries.

4. Using an ice cream scoop, drop 12 nicely shaped mounds onto your cookie sheet. Using the palm of your hand, gently squish the mounds so they look like little hockey pucks.

5. Bake for 20 minutes. Drizzle with more maple syrup (or honey) for serving. 

*Recipe and image found HERE.

 

Leave a Reply

