chocolate donuts.

Stellar Day Blog, Good Eats, Chocolate Donuts

Any chance I get to bake donuts, I DO. I love donuts. And I love that baking them means they’re only 140 calories!

SIGN ME UP.

And the boys love “helping me” too, so that’s always fun. You might remember a post I did awhile ago where the boys and I spent the evening baking donuts together, decorating them and then neither of them wanted to eat them.

WELL.

I found a recipe on Pinterest for CHOCOLATE DONUTS and they were the bomb dot com. (Yep, I just said that.) So check it out here! I turned this recipe into a gluten free recipe because I’m trying to eat a LOT less gluten these days. But these donuts were to die for and we finished all of them within twenty-four hours. Try them out. And try my other recipe too. If you love donuts as much as me, but don’t always want the extra calories, this is the way to go.

Ingredients

1 cup of flour (I used rice flour)

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

2/3 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon fine grain salt

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/2 cup milk (I used 2%)

1/4 cup plain yogurt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 large egg

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and lightly grease donut pan.  Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and baking soda, then whisk in sugar, nutmeg and salt.  Using your fingers, add the butter working it into the dry ingredients until course crumbles are formed.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the milk, yogurt and egg.  Add the dry ingredients and stir until they are just combined.
2. To place donut batter into the donut pan cavities, pour the batter into a ziploc bag, cutting off one corner.  You can then squeeze the batter into the pan with minimal mess.  Fill each cavity about 1/2 to 3/4 full.
3. Bake for 8-10 minutes until the donuts spring back lightly when touched.  Place on a rack to cool slightly.
4. Once cooled, frost with chocolate frosting or glaze, add sprinkles or powdered sugar if desired and ENJOY. OMG YUM.
*I found this recipe on Pinterest, but it was originally found HERE
**The photo was taken for my Instagram. You can follow me at @stellardayblog.
Leave a Reply

