tip one.

Finding joy as a business owner

I decided to start a new series with tips I have learned and am learning about running your own business. This past year of my life has been a whirlwind of ups and downs in my personal life AND in my business life. Seriously, I’ve been all over the map. I can’t shake the feeling of needing to write all this down and share it with someone. Even if it only encourages and inspires ONE person, it would be worth it. So you know what you do when you can’t stop thinking about something of this nature?

YOU DON’T IGNORE IT AND DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.

So that’s what I’m doing here and now. Every week I’m going to share with you things that I am learning that can be applied to any business that you own or are running. Some tips will be obvious, and others not so obvious. You can agree or disagree- I DON’T CARE. This is my personal journey and these little tid bits of information are what has helped me over this past year. It’s all a work in progress anyways and things I am still working on to this day. And probably will be for the rest of my life.

So today I am sharing TIP #1 with you! I titled it, FINDING JOY. Oh great, you’re thinking. Here’s a tip that is easier said than done.

Yes, you are correct. And if it was easy it wouldn’t be worth fighting for so listen up.

Aside from some major blessings and exciting things in my life this year, it has probably been one of the worst years of my life. I’ve had major highlights for sure- getting pregnant, traveling, watching my niece grow, we are all healthy- the list goes on. I realize that I am blessed. But I have also had a number of things happen that have-

ALMOST CRUSHED MY SPIRIT COMPLETELY.

Whoa, is that true? It’s true.

I’ve had moments of endless sobbing, of crying out to God, of deep sadness, of hopelessness, worthlessness, and anxiety like I’ve never experienced in my life. A lot of it I can probably blame on being pregnant (see this post HERE), but nonetheless, it’s all happened to me. And I have honestly had moments of wanting to give it all up- even my booming photography business- because I simply just could not see the joy in my day to day.

Deep breath.

I have HAD to dig SO deep within my soul and search for, remind myself of, and speak truth to myself about the joy in my life and career that I couldn’t simply see. I have had OTHERS constantly remind me of all I have to be grateful for and to help refocus my mind when the lies creep in. The lies that tell me that there’s no joy in my life.

That’s luducris.

When you are running your own business, all the responsibility lands on YOU. No one is telling you when to work, where to be, or how to do things. Pretty cool, right? Yes, AND it’s a massive responsibility. Sometimes I DO think it would be easier to work for someone else. Sometimes tossing in the towel DOES seem like the only way. It’s a lot of work to run your own business and it’s not easy at all. But when my mind starts to go that direction, I have to refocus my thoughts and ask myself WHY am I thinking like that. Is there something that isn’t working for me? Can I change things to make it better? Or do I need to just put on my big girl panties and deal with it?

That’s the beauty of running your own business. YOU CAN DO WHATEVER YOU WANT.

After I ask and answer those questions, I take time to mentally (or on paper) make a list of every reason why this career path rocks for me. I write down every single thing that I’m grateful for. And I dig deep for the JOY that lies beneath the stress, burdens, blood, sweat and tears. It never takes me very long to remember that I have much to be joyful over in this career and it’s NOT worth giving up- even when it’s hard or even if there’s things about it that suck.

I know you can do this too.

Running your own business is SO hard. Most people don’t realize all the things that go into running a successful business. It would be so easy to give up, to stop inventing, to stop dreaming, and to let it all die because of the overwhelming amount of hard work it takes to run.

But if it wasn’t hard, it wouldn’t be worth it. Amiright?

If you are an entreprenuer, a homemaker, or manage someone elses business- take time to stop and think about exactly WHY you are doing this as a job or a career. Why did you start it to begin with? What passion ignited in your heart that so compelled you into action to make it your line of work? Find the joy in it that you once had. Write out all that you are grateful for in it.

AND KEEP GOING.

Fight through the hard, the lies, the what seems impossible. You might be going at this alone and that’s OK. Fight for it. Focus on the joy, the positives, and the reasons that you started this to begin with. If you can’t continually refocus your brain to remember ALL that you are blessed with, to be thankful, and to find joy- even in your most desperate moments-

YOU WILL FAIL.

Even if you don’t fail to the worlds standards, you will never find satisfaction in your work.

So I leave you with this. Even if you find yourself wondering what the heck you are doing, it’s important to choose joy, no matter what situation you’re in. We always have something to be thankful for, even in our darkest days. Lift your eyes UP. Fight for your business if you believe in it. Change something or lots of things if they need to be changed! It all lies on your shoulders, which can either be extremely daunting or extremely freeing.

It’s very freeing to me.

When I start to feel like the world is burdening me and like I can’t possibly keep this going anymore, I choose JOY. I DON’T mean, I pretend to be happy when I’m simply not. I choose to remember all the passion I had when we started our business, and I am thankful that it’s gotten me this far. I choose to remember all the things about what I do that are amazing. Everything I GET to do and WOULDN’T get to do if I wasn’t my own boss. The list turns out to be much longer than I realize.

And then I can’t help but feel spurred on to keep going. To keep fighting. To keep trying. To not be afraid of making mistakes and to take many leaps of faith in this world of business that I am trying to navigate. Finding the joy in it all is the only way to keep going, to keep your spirit in tact, and to come out MORE thankful at the end than you did when you started.

So KEEP GOING. Write out what you’re thankful for in your business and all the things that you DO love about it. And focus on that. The hard days will come. The hard work WILL come. But it’s all going to be worth it if you just KEEP GOING.

Choose to find joy and keep going strong. You can totally do this.

~Jess xo

2 thoughts on “tip one.

  1. Thanks for sharing all this Jess. I was nodding my head- yes, yes, yes- as I read. The joys and struggles of being a small business owner. I’ve had days too that have felt- for lack of a better word- dark. And the only thing that pulls me out of that funk is praying through everything I’m thankful for. Looking forward to reading more of your posts coming up. Happy New Year! xo

    • Aw thanks so much for commenting Erin! It’s so nice to know we aren’t alone as business owners right? Praying for you in it all too!! I’m thankful for your friendship and support girl! xoxo

Leave a Reply

