sleep deprived.

Stellar Day Blog, Being Mom, Sleep

If you’re a mama at ANY stage, you know and understand how it feels when you get your baby to not only sleep in their own bed BUT to sleep for more than four hours.

YOU FEEL LIKE A NEW WOMAN THE NEXT DAY.

She’s been sleeping anywhere from 4-6 hour stretches at night and it makes me SO thankful every single time. Some moms can run on little to zero sleep for weeks, months and years. I, my friends, am NOT that mom. I spend the first few weeks of each of my kiddies lives working hard to ensure that they sleep through the night as soon as they are physically capable.

So here we are, almost 8 weeks old and very close to sleeping consistently six hour stretches at night. I love the newborn stage for many reasons, but there are many reasons that it’s SO hard. Lack of sleep is one of them. I can do it for a week or two and remain my normal self, somewhat. But after that, I am a serious grump and a total wimp. I can function on SOME lack of sleep. But when it’s not at my own will and when you have to care for someone else in the wee hours of the morning, it’s HARD.

Being a mama really is a sacrifice in every sense of the word. It’s not always easy. Or, it’s hardly ever easy I guess. It IS worth it. But it’s so awesome when life resumes back to somewhat normal and you don’t have to watch a sunrise with a baby in your arms anymore. Makes for very sweet moments, one tired mama, and a season that I’m glad to see go.

And in the same breath, I don’t want her to get big and grow up. I guess we can’t have it all.

Motherhood, at it’s finest. A mix of emotions, lack of sleep, wishing away time AND clinging to it for dear life. What a whirlwind, amiright?

Leave a Reply

