the least of these.

Stellar Day Blog, Encouragement, Inspiration

I’m constantly being reminded that the little things DO matter in my day to day life. The Lord is gently telling me time and time again, that all the monotonous things that I think are boring, futile, and easily over looked really DO matter. And that when I am working for Him, He DOES see every little thing that I consider boring or tedious.

Like changing diapers. Or cutting apples. Or picking up toys. Or bath time just so they can get dirty tomorrow.

He is kindly reminding me that working hard for my kids is my ministry right now. Serving them daily, teaching them, and helping them grow is to be the vast majority of my focus right now. But it’s really hard some days. Some days I feel like we barely made it to bed time and we didn’t do anything else besides change diapers, wipe noses, and break up arguments between brothers. To be honest, there’s been a lot of days recently where I got to the end of one day and dreaded the morning because I would have to do it all over again.

And I love being a mom. But it’s HARD. It’s hard to constantly be serving three little people who don’t have the capacity to fully understand how to serve or give back.

And that’s not what’s expected here.

It’s just exhausting most days. I’ve actually never been more exhausted in my entire life. But when I feel weary, God ever so gently reminds me of this verse:

Stellar Day Blog, Encouragement, Inspiration

It renews my mindset. It brings me encouragement and gives me strength to finish each day strong. Jesus DOES see all that I am doing as a mom. He sees every little tedious thing that I do to make my house function smoothly. He sees my tears, frustration, and every booger I wipe each day. He sees the laundry, the dishes in the sink, and the weariness I carry from the moment I wake up.

And I am learning to rest in that.

My children are ‘the least of these’ at this season of my life. I have to serve them fully as their mother and they depend completely on me and Jason. When I change my mindset, I remember that all of this IS for Jesus. I am serving Jesus as I serve my children.

I don’t know what that does for you, but it helps me carry on. To remember that even the chore of changing diapers, doing laundry and picking up toys day in and day out isn’t for nothing. It’s right where I’m supposed to be. Taking care of my children, teaching them, and getting on their level to help them grow.

God sees how tired I am. He knows. And somehow, he understands. He’s teaching me to rely on Him fully, just as my kids rely on me fully. So what started out as an exhausting thought process, suddenly becomes humbling. That He would choose me to be their mother and that I am able to serve and take care of them how I do.

Be encouraged young mom. I’m right there with you in the trenches. It’s hard work. I hardly have time for friends. I’m working all the time. Making three meals a day is exhausting. Not to mention everything else that needs to get done. But God sees it. He sees it all. You’ve got this. I’ve got this. Just take one day at a time and remember who you’re really serving as you serve your family.

*The bible verse image was found on Pinterest. The photo of my little girl is mine, all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “the least of these.

  1. Jess
    I love to read your blog, I’m obviously not a mom : ) But my boo is about to be!! And I’m just thankful for you. Your an example of a Godly mama, Your love for Jesus and your commitment to honesty and encouragement to others and mom’s specifically is a blessing. God bless. Miss you guys!!

    • Aww thank you SO much Kyle!! We miss you guys too!! Can’t wait to see Meriah! We must hang out soon. Thanks for commenting, what an encouragement to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

