july fourth.

Today’s post might be kinda long with a LOT of pictures. If you follow me on Instagram, you might have seen some of these. But not all of them. I take sooo many pictures every day, it’s sorta unreal. I don’t post anywhere near all of them. But I’m sharing a few more here tonight.

What a rad day. It’s everything I dreamed it would be and everything I want out of the Fourth of July. FIRST, the day started like this:

Stellar Day Blog, Fourth of July, Ouray, Colorado Are you DYING? I die every single day with this little girl. I made her headband and her outfit was a gift from my dear friend Alex. Holy moly baby girl, you are freaking amazing.

The town of Ouray is AH-MA-ZING. You guys. Put it on your bucket list RIGHT NOW of places to see before you die. We’ve had the best week here. Their Fourth of July celebration is the best. We started the morning out watching a Fourth of July parade down Main Street. It was mere steps from the house we rented from HomeAway.com. The boys loved every single minute of it!

Stellar Day Blog, Fourth of July, Ouray, Colorado Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetThere were SO many festivities going on in the park today. The park here is incredible and also has hot springs that you can wade in! We didn’t do that this trip, but we did play in the park. Today it was packed with SO many people. There was face painting, sack races, ice cream, live music and SO much more. We grabbed some ice cream and let the boys play for a while. None of us wanted to ever leave the park. I mean, would you? LOOK AT THE VIEW.

Stellar Day Blog, Fourth of July, Ouray, ColoradoOur house was SO close to everything. We walked just about everywhere. So when it came time to eat meals, we just usually went back to the house for sandwiches, chips and fruit. We ate out a couple times to experience dining in Ouray, but mostly we ate in. It saved on cash, allowed us to rest, and was healthier too. And cuter OMG.

Stellar Day Blog, Fourth of July, Ouray, ColoradoAfter lunch, my mom stayed at the house with Bravery and allowed Jason and I to take the boys out on Main Street again. The volunteer fire department hosted water games in the middle of the street with huge hoses! It was awesome and PACKED. We could hardly see the games let alone get photos. We tried to lift the boys up for them to see, but it was seriously so packed. You could tell the town looked forward to this every year. SO RAD. So after a while we stepped into a chocolate and coffee shop called Mouse’s. We’ve gotten coffee here almost every morning. And they make these cookies they’re famous for called Scrap cookies, where they take all the scraps from all the candies and cookies that they make through the day, combine it all together and make a brand new cookie. SERIOUSLY SO GOOD. So we got those and coffee (juice for the boys) and spent a little time together just us four.

Stellar Day Blog, Fourth of July, Ouray, Colorado Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe rest of the afternoon we spent snacking, watching movies, snacking, coloring, snacking, working, snacking, and resting. Oh and snacking.

Then we got ready for the fireworks! The town of Ouray also had a laser show on the mountains and a glow in the dark jeep parade before the fireworks started. I couldn’t get pictures of all of it because I was trying to keep this little one happy. This photo was taken at almost 9:00pm. LOOK HOW LIGHT IT IS OUTSIDE STILL. I couldn’t believe she was still awake.

Stellar Day Blog, Fourth of July, Ouray, ColoradoWe found the most perfect little spot to watch the fireworks. The boys were WAY TOO excited, but we managed. Bravery fell asleep finally. And my mom has been here the whole time to help us, watch the boys when we are working, and to enjoy the vacay with us too. YAY FOR MOMS. Yay for my mom on this trip. We are really thankful she was able to come.

Stellar Day Blog, Fourth of July, Ouray, Colorado Processed with VSCOcam with m3 presetThe firework show was short and awesome. I found myself thinking about how lucky I am. Last year I was standing in the Gulf of Mexico in Naples, Florida watching the fire works over the board walk with Jason the night before we photographed a wedding. And this year, we are in the town of Ouray, Colorado as a family of five watching fire works over the Rocky Mountains and hearing them boom throughout the canyons. SO. COOL. I’m so thankful we’ve made it a family tradition and goal to travel every Fourth of July. Our kids have been loving every minute.

Stellar Day Blog, Fourth of July, Ouray, ColoradoWell, they were loving every minute until Cruz somehow got it in his head that the fireworks were going to catch our house on fire. Poor guy. I tucked him in extra tight tonight and he went to sleep without any issues. But his little overactive mind got the best of him tonight I think.

Stellar Day Blog, Fourth of July, Ouray, ColoradoWhat a week! Man it’s been so good. And it’s hardly over. Tomorrow we head to Telluride for several days of work! We are shooting a wedding, engagement session AND a lifestyle session while we are there. All while still taking time to vacation together a bit before we head home in a week.

There isn’t a day that goes by that I’m not thankful for the jobs that we have. What we do definitely isn’t perfect. I hit creative ruts and frustrations all the time and there are things about my job that aren’t my favorite. Like with any job. But every day I’m grateful for the work we do and can’t imagine doing anything else.

Thanks for journeying with me, and allowing me to share my life with you. Whether my posts are long or short, I’m thankful for YOU for reading.

Happy Fourth of July you guys. We have so much to be thankful for in this country. I’m thankful for the little piece of Ouray I’ll be taking home with me.

Leave a Reply

