vegetables.

Stellar Day Blog, Being Mom, Picky Eaters

Yes. This is a picture of my child trying a red bell pepper for the first time. MY KID. So this has been going on for a few days, and I’ve hesitated saying anything about it. My kids (particularly the one pictured) are pretty picky eaters. But they don’t like junk- it’s mostly (MOSTLY) healthy to semi-healthy stuff they’ll eat. But they won’t usually try new stuff.

Before we went to Colorado, I wrote THIS post about how Cruz all of a sudden had a day where he randomly tried all this new stuff. And it was super exciting and amazing because he never tries new things! I sort of felt like I could see the end of the tunnel.

Well, this week he’s tried, in abundance I might add, bell peppers, carrots, broccoli, lettuce, pumpkin bread and keeps BEGGING to try new vegetables. He just went grocery shopping with me this morning and I stocked up on sweet potatoes, corn, zucchini, and SO many fruits it’s not even funny.

Then Rider asked for cookies AND CRUZ SAID:

“Rider, I don’t eat cookies anymore. I only eat vegetables!”

And I about fell over. SO. Just know that IF you have a picky eater, be patient with them. Don’t force them to try new things. GIVE THEM SPACE AND FREEDOM to try at their own will and to like/dislike at their own will. They will come around. I’m experiencing it firsthand, thank GOD.

On the flip side, I think I can say adios to my grocery budget as I think these boys are going to eat me out of house and home! It’s a good problem to have, but WHOA.

Leave a Reply

