be kind.

Stellar Day Blog, Be Kind, EncouragementI’m working hard at this, these days it seems.

What are you talking about, Jess? You ARE kind.

Sometimes, I don’t feel kind, if I’m just being honest. Not in my heart, at least sometimes. Most of the time these days I feel tired. Exhausted. I have an overwhelming amount of things to say about the season I just came out of. And not sure where/who to say them to. I am sad sometimes. I am different than I was before Bravery was born. And sometimes I just don’t FEEL like being kind. I wish I could let my mouth run and run and run. But what would that accomplish?

I’m aware enough to know that would only do damage and for no good reason.

It’s hard to be kind, especially when you feel like you’ve been wronged or let down. It’s hard to be kind when you’re tired. It’s hard to be kind when you are sad. It’s hard to be kind when you’re mad.

But still, if you can be anything, being kind is probably one of the greatest things you CAN be. Choosing kindness to strangers even if they’re mean to you. Kind to your children, even when they are sucking the life out of you. Kind to your neighbors, even when all they do is take from you. Kind to your friends, even when wrong is done to you.

Choosing a kind spirit is something I really have to work on in different seasons in my life. Finding the strength to be kind from way down deep so that it springs forth from my own heart, is hard sometimes.

Is anyone with me? Am I the ONLY one who doesn’t always feel kind on the inside sometimes?

Choosing kindness is just like choosing joy, patience, love. It’s a choice. We all have a choice amidst our own circumstances. We all have the opportunity to make the right decision and to consciously change the attitude in our hearts every day.

And a little at a time, your heart will change for good. And you won’t have to dig so hard to find the kindness, joy, patience, love. It will come more naturally as God blesses your efforts.

And sleep. Sleep will help with this too. That I’m convinced of.

*Image found on Pinterest, but it was originally from HERE. It is not my own.

 

2 thoughts on “be kind.

  1. Oh yes, I always try to be kind but there are occasions where it just doesn’t work out. I have a quote written in a book that says: “Our prime purpose in this life is to help others. And if you can’t help them, at least don’t hurt them.” It’s a good reminder to have :]

Leave a Reply

